Galway City of Film

was the fifth city in the world to be awarded the permanent status of UNESCO City of Film.

GALWAY AS A UNESCO CITY OF FILM Ceantar Scannán/ Galway City of Film is a UNESCO designation held by Galway City and County Council since 2014, and managed on their behalf by Ardán
Ardán (previously Galway Film Centre) and Galway City and County Councils drove the bid process for Status. The final submission on behalf of the consortium of over 50 organisations drawn from across Galway city and county was submitted in March 2014. 63 cities worldwide were shortlisted by UNESCO. Bradford, UK , Galway’s twin city, was the first city to be awarded the title of UNESCO City of Film in 2009.
Galway City of Film’s objective is to develop nascent and latent talent in the film industry in Galway City and County as a key part of the UNESCO Creative Cities Network.
About the UNESCO Creative Cities Network: The title of UNESCO City of Film includes membership to UNESCO’s Creative Cities Network (UCCN). The UCCN was created in 2004 to promote cooperation with and among cities that have identified creativity as a strategic factor for sustainable urban development. 
For more info on the UNESCO Creative Cities network see here

Galway UNESCO City of Film is administered by Ardán (previously Galway Film Centre)

on behalf of Galway City Council and Galway County Council, in partnership with the Department of Tourism, Culture, Heritage and the Gaeltacht, Screen Ireland/ Fís Éireann (previously the Irish Film Board/Bord Scannán na hÉireann), Údarás na Gaeltachta and TG4.

It is backed by Galway Film Fleadh, PÁLAS, Creative Europe Desk Galway, The Centre for Creative Arts & Media, GMIT, Huston School of Film & Digital Media and the local film and television sector.

This website is updated and maintained partly in thanks to the Galway City Council Marketing Promotion Fund 2019.